Electro festival Rajasthan 2019
Magnetic Fields is a three-day festival held in a 17th century palace in the middle of the desert of Rajasthan. Now in its seventh year, it attracts nearly 5,000 world-renowned revelers and artists to Alsisar Mahal, a magnificent palace turned five-star hotel.
Quand
11 Dec 2019, 00:00 – 21 Dec 2019, 23:00
Alsisar mahal,
Alsisar, Rajasthan 331025, India
Meet The Team
Imagine three days of electro partying in a huge and splendid 17th century Rajasthani palace, the Alsisar Mahal, now home to a luxury hotel, in the heart of the Shekhawati region.
This is what Magnetic Fields offers, one of the hippest festivals in India, which loves, every year in December since 2013, the golden youth of New Delhi and Bombay, and international festival-goers, in an atmosphere very hipster. On the program: cutting-edge electro DJ sets, concerts and visual arts, but also traditional music and morning yoga sessions. As for accommodation, a tent camp is set up next to the palace.
There are two kinds of people:
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.
those that await December because of Christmas & New Year,
and those that await it as the time of year when dance freaks, musical bugs, and art connoisseurs of every kind gather in the desert region of Rajasthan under the pristine, magical roof of the Magnetic Fields Festival.
Logo RA.png

A festival like no other - Resident Advisor


"Magnetic fields are unique. Taking over the resplendent Alsisar Mahal hotel in the countryside of Rajasthan each December, the festival is considered the best dance music event in India, and it is certainly the only rave party I have ever experienced. in a real palace. 4000 ravers, free to wander the square, between the sunny roof to the manicured gardens and beyond, to the desert dunes, where they are housed in tidy tents, in white canvas, with beds , toilets and sinks It was serious glamping!

The audience is made up of people from all over the country, especially the cities of Mumbai and Bangalore, already well used to big parties, as well as expats from countries like Dubai and a decent number of Europeans, ranging from business man backpacking hippies ... it's a more lively mix than any average European festival and sparked a lot of interesting late night talk about what we were all doing here, drinking and dancing until dawn, right in the middle of conservative rural India.

Several artist cancellations at the start of the festival show how difficult it is to organize an event of this type in such a remote location: most artists have to travel six hours by taxi between New Delhi and the site to contributing to the festival and cancellations are not uncommon. But the organizers always have one or two good surprises to compensate and fill the absences: there is no other festival than Magnetic Fields!

Logo that festival life.png


“In many ways, Magnetic Fields was exactly as I imagined… It was very trendy, with the crowd mostly made up of chic, music-loving Indians, who had traveled from the cities of Delhi, Mumbai and Bangalore, and a few other savvy travelers like us. The stages and site were very well done with a lot of brand and sponsor partnerships. While I understand the need for it, this is something I usually hate. However, in the decor was surprisingly discreet Each stage had a brand sponsor, Red Bull, Bira 91, Renault… but hats off to the Magnetic Fields team because it was very classy!

With its sponsors, hipster audience and the fact that the price is out of reach for most Indians (we paid the equivalent of around £ 200 for our tickets at the end of the booking; with a top tent accommodation package. elementary… (cheap by European standards but expensive in India) Magnetic fields can be considered quite elitist… However, one of the main points that struck me was how aware the festival was of its context and setting.

I felt that everything had been organized so that the modern and the historical, the global and the local could coexist harmoniously. In particular, an exhibition of photographs of “Photographing the Female” was presented around one of the swimming pools where many women from the region had participated. In addition, traditional musicians from Rajasthan performed impromptu acoustic ensembles on the rooftops and around the palace. A unique audiovisual show, "Different Trains 1947", premiered on the main stage on Sunday evening. It was produced by Indian and British artists and historians as part of the UK-India Year of Culture to celebrate 60 years of Indian independence since 1947. "

Read the full article

Magnetic field festival

Rajasthan

11 days, all inclusive

Meet The Team
Imaginez trois jours de fête électro dans un immense et splendide palais du Rajasthan du 17e siècle, l’Alsisar Mahal, qui abrite aujourd’hui un hôtel de luxe, au cœur de la région de Shekhawati.
C’est ce que propose le Magnetic Fields, l’un des festivals les plus branchés d’Inde, qui aimante, chaque année en décembre depuis 2013, la jeunesse dorée de New Delhi et de Bombay, et les festivaliers internationaux, dans une ambiance très hipster. Au programme : DJ sets électro pointus, concerts et arts visuels, mais aussi musique traditionnelle et séances de yoga matinales. Côté hébergement, un camp de tentes est installé à côté du palais.
There are two kinds of people:
those that await December because of Christmas & New Year,
and those that await it as the time of year when dance freaks, musical bugs, and art connoisseurs of every kind gather in the desert region of Rajasthan under the pristine, magical roof of the Magnetic Fields Festival.

Un festival pas comme les autres - Resident Advisor


"Les champs magnétiques sont uniques. Reprenant chaque décembre le resplendissant hôtel Alsisar Mahal dans la campagne du Rajasthan, le festival est considéré comme le meilleur événement de Dance music en Inde, et c’est certainement la seule rave party  que j’ai jamais connu dans un veritable palais. 4000 ravers, libres de se promener sur la place, entre le toit ensoleillé jusqu'aux jardins manucurés et audelà, vers les dunes du désert, où ils sont logés dans des tentes bien rangées, en toile blanche, avec lits, toilettes et lavabos. C'était du sérieux glamping !.

L'audience est composée de personnes venant de tout le pays, en particulier des villes de Mumbai et de Bangalore, déjà bien habituées au grosses fêtes, ainsi que des expatriés de pays comme Dubaï et un nombre décent d'Européens, allant du business man  au hippies voyageant en sac à dos... C'ést un mélange plus vivant que dans n’importe quel festival européen moyen et cela a déclenché une foule de discussions intéressantes tard dans la nuit sur ce que nous faisions tous ici, en buvant et dansant jusqu'à l'aube, au beau milieu d'une Inde rurale conservatrice.

Plusieurs annulations d'artistes en début de festival montrent à quel point il est difficile d'organiser un événement de ce type dans un endroit aussi isolé: la plupart des artistes doivent se faire  six heures de voyage en taxi entre New Delhi et le site pour contribuer au festival et les annulations ne sont pas rares. Mais les organisateurs ont toujours une ou deux bonnes  surprises pour compenser et combler les absences : il n'y a pas d'autre festival que Magnetic Fields !


"À bien des égards, Magnetic Fields était exactement comme je l'avais imaginé… C'était très tendance, la foule étant principalement composée  d'indiens chics amateurs de musique, qui avaient voyagé depuis les villes de Delhi, Mumbai et Bangalore, et quelques autres voyageurs avertis. comme nous. Les scènes et le site ont été très bien réalisés avec beaucoup de partenariats de marques et de sponsors. Bien que j'en comprenne la nécessité, c'est quelque chose que je déteste habituellement. Cependant, dans le décor, c'était étonnamment discret. Chaque étape a eu un sponsor de marque, Red Bull, Bira 91, Renault… mais chapeau à l’équipe de Magnetic Fields parce que c’était très classe!

Avec ses sponsors, son public hipster et le fait que le prix soit hors de portée de la plupart des Indiens (nous avons payé l'équivalent d'environ 200 £ pour nos billets en fin de réservation ; avec un  forfait hébergement en tente des plus élémentaires… (bon marché par rapport aux normes européennes mais cher en Inde ) Les champs magnétiques peuvent être considérés comme assez élitistes… Cependant, l’un des principaux points qui m’a frappée a été de constater à quel point le festival était conscient de son contexte et de son cadre.

Je sentais que tout avait été organisé pour que le moderne et l’historique, le global et le local puissent se côtoyer harmonieusement. Notamment, une exposition de photographies de «Photographing the Female» a été présentée autour de l’une des piscines où de nombreuses femmes de la région avaient participé. De plus, des musiciens traditionnels du Rajasthan jouaient des ensembles acoustiques impromptus sur les toits et autour du palais. Un spectacle audiovisuel unique, "Different Trains 1947", a été présenté sur la scène principale dimanche soir. Il a été produit par des artistes et des historiens indiens et britanniques dans le cadre de l'année de la culture UK-Inde pour célébrer  les 60 ans de L'indépendance de l'Inde depuis 1947."

Lisez la totalité de l'article (en anglais)

Magnetic field festival

Rajasthan

11 jours, tout compris