Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka's documented history spans 3,000 years, with evidence of prehistoric human occupation dating back at least 125,000 years. It has a rich cultural heritage and the earliest known Buddhist writings of Sri Lanka, the Pāli Canon, date back to the Fourth Buddhist Council of 29 BC. J.-C.

Its geographical location and deep ports give it great strategic importance from the days of the ancient Silk Road to the modern Maritime Silk Road.

At the start of British colonial rule, Sri Lanka was known as Ceylon.

A nationalist political movement arose in the country at the beginning of the 20th century to obtain political independence, which was granted to it in 1948; the country became a republic and adopted its current name in 1972.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Sri Lanka is Asia's oldest democracy.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Sri Lanka's recent history has been marked by a 26-year civil war between Tamil Hindu separatists and the Sinhala Buddhist government, which ended decisively when the Sri Lankan government's armed forces defeated the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) in 2009.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Since this tragic war, the Sri Lankan government has been subject to several procedures for genocide and non-compliance with the Geneva Convention, initiated by the United Nations.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Srilanka Mission d'evaluation Mars 2006
Srilanka Mission d'evaluation Mars 2006

Srilanka Mission d'evaluation Mars 2006
Srilanka Mission d'evaluation Mars 2006

2013.03.30.Backwaters-0019
2013.03.30.Backwaters-0019

Srilanka Mission d'evaluation Mars 2006
Srilanka Mission d'evaluation Mars 2006

1/50

Population, geography

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The island is home to many cultures, languages ​​and ethnicities.

The majority of the population is of the Sinhalese ethnicity, while a large minority of Tamils ​​have also played an influential role in the history of the island. The Moors (Muslim population), Burgher (descendants of Portuguese and Dutch), Malays, Chinese and Vedda (native population) are also established groups on the island.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Sri Lanka has 103 rivers. The longest of these is the Mahaweli River, which stretches for 335 kilometers. These waterways give rise to 51 natural waterfalls of 10 meters or more. The highest fall is that of Bambarakanda, with a height of 263 meters.

The coast of Sri Lanka stretches for 1,585 km. Sri Lanka claims an exclusive economic zone (EEZ) of 200 nautical miles, roughly 6.7 times the size of its territory. The coastline and adjacent waters support highly productive marine ecosystems, such as fringing coral reefs and shallow beds of coastal and estuarine seagrass beds.

Sri Lanka has 45 estuaries and 40 lagoons. Sri Lanka's mangrove ecosystem spans 7,000 hectares and was instrumental in protecting against wave force during the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami.

The island is rich in minerals such as ilmenite, feldspar, graphite, silica, kaolin, mica and thorium. The existence of oil and gas in the Gulf of Mannar has also been confirmed and the extraction of recoverable quantities is underway.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Weather


The climate is tropical and hot, due to the moderating effects of ocean winds. Average temperatures range from 17 ° C in the central highlands, where frost can occur for several days in winter, to a maximum of 33 ° C in other low-lying areas. Average annual temperatures vary between 28 ° C and nearly 31 ° C. Daytime and nighttime temperatures can vary from 14 ° C to 18 ° C.

The precipitation pattern is influenced by monsoon winds from the Indian Ocean and Bay of Bengal. The "wetland" and some of the windward slopes of the central highlands receive up to 2,500 millimeters of rain per year, but the leeward slopes to the east and northeast receive little rain . Most of the east, south-east and north of Sri Lanka constitute the "dry zone", which receives between 1200 and 1900 mm of precipitation annually.

The arid north-west and south-east coasts receive the lowest rainfall, between 800 and 1200 mm per year.

Periodic squalls occur and sometimes tropical cyclones bring overcast skies and rain to the southwest, northeast and east of the island. Humidity is generally higher in the southwest and mountainous areas and depends on seasonal rainfall patterns.

Economy

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

One of Sri Lanka's main sources of foreign exchange is tea production. It represents 2% of the GDP and generated more than 1.5 billion US dollars in 2013 in the economy of Sri Lanka. It employs, directly or indirectly, more than a million people. In 1995, it directly employed 215,338 in plantations and tea plantations. In addition, tea plantation by smallholders is the source of employment for thousands of people and is also the main form of livelihood for tens of thousands of families. Sri Lanka is the world's fourth largest tea producer. In 1995 it was the world's largest exporter of tea, accounting for 23% of total world exports, but has since been overtaken by Kenya. The highest production of 340 million kg was recorded in 2013.

Flora and fauna

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Despite its small size, Sri Lanka has a high level of biodiversity and wildlife resources and ranks among the top 34 biodiversity hotspots in the world. Many species of flora and fauna are endemic to Sri Lanka. This has made the island a country with the highest rate of biological endemism in the world.

13% of Sri Lanka's land has been designated as Wildlife Protection Areas, which currently exceeds a total area of ​​8,500 km2. About 7% of the area is made up of national parks, areas accessible to the public for viewing and studying wildlife. Sri Lanka's national parks have become popular tourist destinations.

Tourism

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

When the government decided to develop the tourism sector as a separate sector of the country's economy by establishing the Ceylon Tourism Bureau in 1966, the country had 18,969 foreign tourist arrivals to Sri Lanka. Tourist arrivals tended to increase until 1982, with the exception of 1971. Between 1976 and 1982, tourist arrivals had increased by 24% per year. Tourist traffic in 1982 showed remarkable growth in the number of tourists, with 407,230 arrivals. However, with the onset of the civil war in 1983, the growth in the number of tourist arrivals slowed down and stagnated between 300,000 and 500,000 arrivals per year.

In 2009, after the end of the civil war, the number of tourist arrivals rose to 448,000 and, in 2015, to 1,798,380, showing growth of over 300% in six years.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Sri Lanka has nearly 1600 km of coastline with tropical beaches which are popular with local and foreign tourists. The country's coasts exhibit a variety of features such as bays, lagoons, sandbanks and rocky headlands. Recreational activities at sea, such as swimming, surfing, boating, diving, deep sea fishing, underwater photography, are present on most of these beaches.

The beaches of western and southern coasts of the country such as Tangalle, Beruwala, Mirissa, Bentota, Unawatuna, Hikkaduwa and Negombo are considered famous tourist beaches of the country. They are overcrowded, popular with low-cost tourism and are starting to suffer from the side effects of mass tourism.

The new beaches in the East and North of the country such as Arugam bay, Passikudah, Uppuvelli, Nilaveli and Casuarina bay have rather specialized in luxury tourism and are not for the moment subject to mass tourism.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Heritage tourism involves visiting historic sites. Sri Lanka is very rich in prehistoric, proto-historical and historical monuments, which testify to its ancient civilization and its culture. Buddhism has mainly influenced the formation of the cultural heritage of the country. The historical period of Sri Lanka proper begins around 236 BC. J. - C. with the introduction of Buddhism in the country by the missionaries sent by the Indian empire Asoka.

UNESCO has declared six archaeological sites and two ecological sites as World Heritage. In addition to UNESCO sites, the government of Sri Lanka has declared a number of protected archaeological sites and monuments in the country.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Tourism in Sri Lanka, despite its benefits for the local economy (it is one of the country's main sources of foreign exchange), has its detractors. Some studies indicate that rapid modern tourism development would not meet the specific needs of the local population. In addition, Sri Lanka's great biodiversity appears to be threatened by the development of mass tourism, which has already affected several nature reserves. Certain animal species seem to be seriously threatened by the rise of tourism in certain regions; This is the case of the Keerthisinghe frog, a species endemic to Sri Lanka.

Another type of tourism, called ecotourism, sustainable tourism or responsible tourism, allows travelers to sightsee all over Sri Lanka, while contributing to the well-being of local communities and ensuring that their environmental impact is limited. The Sri Lanka Ecotourism Foundation is the national organization that has created an official ecotourism network across the island, helping to develop sustainable tourism with many travel options.

In the same spirit, solidestionations offers you responsible stays, the law of mass tourism and in areas still poorly known such as the east and the north of the country.

Modified version of Wikipedia

© 2019 par Solidestinations,

Tous droits réservés

  • Solidestinations

Sri Lanka

L'histoire documentée du Sri Lanka s'étend sur 3000 ans, avec des preuves d'occupation humaine préhistorique remontant à au moins 125 000 ans. Il possède un riche patrimoine culturel et les premiers écrits bouddhistes connus du Sri Lanka, le Canon Pāli, remontent au quatrième conseil bouddhiste de l'an 29 av. J.-C.

Sa situation géographique et ses ports profonds lui confèrent une grande importance stratégique depuis l'époque de l'ancienne Route de la Soie jusqu'à la Route de la soie maritime moderne.

Au début de la domination coloniale britannique, Sri Lanka était connue sous le nom de Ceylan.

Un mouvement politique nationaliste est apparu dans le pays au début du 20ème siècle pour l'obtention de l'indépendance politique, qui lui a été accordée en 1948; le pays est devenu une république et a adopté son nom actuel en 1972.

Le Sri Lanka est la plus ancienne démocratie de l'Asie.

L'histoire récente du Sri Lanka a été marquée par une guerre civile de 26 ans entre séparatistes tamouls Hindous et le gouvernement cinghalais bouddhiste, qui s'est terminée de manière décisive lorsque les forces armées du gouvernement Sri Lankais ont défait les Tigres de libération de l'Eelam tamoul (LTTE) en 2009.

Depuis cette guerre tragique, le gouvernement Sri lankais est sous le coup de plusieurs procédures pour génocide et non respect de la convention de Genève, initiées par les Nations Unies.

Population, géographie

L'île abrite de nombreuses cultures, langues et ethnies.

La majorité de la population appartient à l'ethnie cinghalaise, tandis qu'une large minorité de Tamouls a également joué un rôle influent dans l'histoire de l'île. Les Maures (population musulmane), les Burgher ( descendants de Portugais et Néerlandais), les Malais, les Chinois et les Vedda (population native) sont également des groupes établis sur l’île.

Le Sri Lanka compte 103 rivières. Le plus long d'entre eux est la rivière Mahaweli, qui s'étend sur 335 kilomètres. Ces voies navigables donnent naissance à 51 cascades naturelles de 10 mètres ou plus. La chute la plus haute est celle de Bambarakanda, avec une hauteur de 263 mètres. 

La côte du Sri Lanka s'étend sur 1 585 km. Le Sri Lanka revendique une zone économique exclusive (ZEE) de 200 milles marins, soit environ 6,7 fois la superficie de son territoire. Le littoral et les eaux adjacentes abritent des écosystèmes marins hautement productifs, tels que les récifs coralliens frangeants et les lits peu profonds des herbiers marins côtiers et estuariens.

Le Sri Lanka compte 45 estuaires et 40 lagunes. L'écosystème de mangrove du Sri Lanka s'étend sur 7 000 hectares et a joué un rôle essentiel dans la protection contre la force des vagues lors du tsunami de 2004 dans l'océan Indien.

L'île est riche en minéraux tels que l'ilménite, le feldspath, le graphite, la silice, le kaolin, le mica et le thorium. L'existence de pétrole et de gaz dans le golfe de Mannar a également été confirmée et l'extraction des quantités récupérables est en cours.

Climat
Le climat est tropical et chaud, en raison des effets modérateurs des vents océaniques. Les températures moyennes vont de 17°C dans les hauts plateaux du centre, où le gel peut survenir pendant plusieurs jours en hiver, à un maximum de 33°C dans les autres zones de basse altitude. Les températures annuelles moyennes varient entre 28°C et près de 31°C. Les températures diurnes et nocturnes peuvent varier de 14°C à 18°C.

La configuration des précipitations est influencée par les vents de mousson de l'océan Indien et de la baie du Bengale. La "zone humide" et certaines des pentes exposées au vent des hauts plateaux du centre reçoivent jusqu'à 2 500 millimètres de pluie par an, mais les pentes sous le vent, à l'est et au nord-est, reçoivent peu de pluie. La majeure partie de l'est, du sud-est et du nord du Sri Lanka constitue la "zone sèche", qui reçoit annuellement entre 1 200 et 1 900 mm de précipitations.

Les côtes arides du nord-ouest et du sud-est reçoivent les précipitations les plus faibles, soit entre 800 et 1200 mm par an.

Des bourrasques périodiques se produisent et parfois des cyclones tropicaux apportent un ciel couvert et des pluies au sud-ouest, au nord-est et à l'est de l'île. L'humidité est généralement plus élevée dans le sud-ouest et les zones montagneuses et dépend des régimes saisonniers des précipitations.

 

Économie

La production de thé est l'une des principales sources de devises du Sri Lanka. Elle représente 2% du PIB et a généré plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars américains en 2013 dans l'économie du Sri Lanka. Elle emploie, directement ou indirectement, plus d'un million de personnes. En 1995, elle en employait directement 215 338 dans des plantations et des plantations de thé. En outre, la plantation de thé par les petits exploitants est la source d’emplois pour des milliers de personnes et constitue également la principale forme de subsistance pour des dizaines de milliers de familles. Le Sri Lanka est le quatrième producteur mondial de thé. En 1995, il était le premier exportateur mondial de thé, avec 23% des exportations mondiales totales, mais il a depuis été dépassé par le Kenya. La production la plus élevée de 340 millions de kg a été enregistrée en 2013.

 

Faune et flore

Malgré sa petite taille, le Sri Lanka possède un niveau élevé de biodiversité et de ressources fauniques et figure parmi les 34 points important de la biodiversité dans le monde. De nombreuses espèces de la flore et de la faune sont endemiques au Sri Lanka. Cela a fait de l'île un pays où le taux d'endémisme biologique est le plus élevé au monde.

13% des terres du Sri Lanka ont été désignées comme zones de protection de la vie sauvage, qui dépassent actuellement une superficie totale de 8500 km2. Environ 7% de la zone est constituée de parcs nationaux, zones accessibles au public pour observer et étudier la faune. Les parcs nationaux du Sri Lanka sont devenus des destinations touristiques populaires.

 

Tourisme

Lorsque le gouvernement décida de développer le secteur du tourisme en tant que secteur distinct de l'économie du pays en créant le Bureau du tourisme de Ceylan en 1966, le pays comptait 18 969 arrivées de touristes étrangers au Sri Lanka. Les arrivées de touristes ont eu tendance à augmenter jusqu'en 1982, à l'exception de 1971. Entre 1976 et 1982, les arrivées de touristes avaient augmenté de 24% par an. Le trafic touristique en 1982 a montré une croissance remarquable du nombre de touristes, avec 407 230 arrivées. Cependant, avec le début de la guerre civile en 1983, la croissance du nombre d'arrivées de touristes a ralenti et a stagné entre 300 000 et 500 000 arrivées par an.

 En 2009, après la fin de la guerre civile, le nombre d'arrivées de touristes s'est élevé à 448 000 et, en 2015, à 1 798 380, affichant une croissance de plus de 300% en six ans.

Le Sri Lanka possède près de 1600 km de côtes avec des plages tropicales qui sont populaires auprès des touristes locaux et étrangers. Le côtes du pays présentent une variété de caractéristiques telles que des baies, des lagunes, des bancs de sable et des promontoires rocheux. Des activités de loisirs en mer, telles que la baignade, le surf, la navigation de plaisance, la plongée, la pêche en haute mer, la photographie sous-marine, sont présentes sur la plupart de ces plages.

Les plages de des cotes Ouest et sud du pays telles que  Tangalle, Beruwala, Mirissa, Bentota, Unawatuna, Hikkaduwa et Negombo sont considérées comme des plages touristiques célèbres du pays. Elles sont sur-fréquentées, prisées par le tourisme low-cost et commencent a subir les effets secondaires du tourisme de masse.

Les nouvelles plages de l'Est et Nord du pays telles que Arugam bay, Passikudah, Uppuvelli, Nilaveli et Casuarina bay ont plutôt été spécialisé en tourisme de luxe et ne sont pour l'instant pas sujettes au tourisme de masse.

Le tourisme patrimonial implique la visite de sites historiques. Le Sri Lanka est très riche en monuments préhistoriques, proto-historiques et historiques, qui témoignent de son ancienne civilisation et de sa culture. Le bouddhisme a principalement influencé la formation du patrimoine culturel du pays. La période historique du Sri Lanka proprement dite commence vers 236 av. J.-C. avec l'introduction du bouddhisme dans le pays par les missionnaires envoyés par l'empire indien Asoka.

L'UNESCO a déclaré six sites archéologiques et deux sites écologiques comme patrimoine mondial.  Outre les sitesUNESCO, le gouvernement du Sri Lanka a déclaré un certain nombre de sites et de monuments archéologiques protégés dans le pays.

Le tourisme au Sri Lanka, malgré ses avantages pour l’économie locale (c’est l’une des principales sources de devises du pays), a ses détracteurs. Certaines études indiquent qu'un développement touristique moderne rapide ne répondrait pas aux besoins spécifiques de la population locale. En outre, la grande biodiversité de Sri Lanka semble être menacée par le développement du tourisme de masse, qui a déjà affecté plusieurs réserves naturelles. Certaines espèces animales semblent être sérieusement menacées par la montée du tourisme dans certaines régions; C’est le cas de la grenouille de Keerthisinghe, une espèce endémique au Sri Lanka.

Un autre type de tourisme, appelé écotourisme, tourisme durable ou tourisme responsable, permet aux voyageurs de faire du tourisme dans tout le Sri Lanka, tout en contribuant au bien-être des communautés locales et en veillant à ce que leur impact environnemental soit limité. La Sri Lanka Ecotourism Foundation est l'organisation nationale qui a créé un réseau officiel d'écotourisme à travers l'île, permettant de développer un tourisme durable avec de nombreuses options de voyage.

Dans ce meme esprit, solidestionations vous propose des séjours responsables, loi du tourisme de masse et dans des zones encore mal connues comme l'est et le Nord du pays.

Version modifiée de Wikipédia