Our team

BINDHU_DxO.jpg

Bindhu

Bindhu is the first to join our team and to have been introduced to tea making in 2018. Today, she in turn trains the women working with us. This widowed woman is raising her two children on her own and caring for her elderly, but still active mother. Before joining us, Bindhu worked day laborers in tea plantations, rice paddies and construction sites. She worked for a ridiculous sum of 3 to 6 euros a day. By joining Solidestinations, she has the right to a real employment contract and a guaranteed monthly salary .

Technical manager of the plantation and tea rolling machine

SHALINI_DxO.jpg

Shalini was recruited in 2018 on a part-time basis, in parallel with her studies in Accounting. After completing her degree, she is now pursuing a master's degree by correspondence and works full-time with Solidestinations as Executive Assistant and Project Manager . Shalini is the oldest in a family of 2 children, whose mother is widowed and unemployed since the death of an abusive husband when Shalini was 12 years old. Shalini is keen on a career with Solidestinations and we hope she can take over the leadership of Gudalur's local workshop one day!

Shalini

Project and administration manager

Nisha arrived in 2019 and has two children aged thirteen and eight. I t was recruited and formed by Bindhu. She is also a day worker. Her painter husband works just like her, by the day. Nisha and her husband managed to educate their grown-up daughter in a drinking school and in English. It's a huge effort, because in general, children from poor families go to communal school in Tamil.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Nisha

Responsible for stock, quality control and tea rolling machine

ANUSHA_DxO.jpg

Anusha

Anusha is Bindhu's daughter, without benchmarks and supervision while her mother was working, she failed to enter University in 2019 after obtaining her Bac. We spotted her during certain events organized by Solidestinations, for her strong character, her boundless energy and her ability to take care of children. A sponsorship offered by one of our travelers enabled her to register for a Social Work License . At the same time, she follows an apprenticeship with Solidestinations on children's animation and accounting.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Administrative assistant and in charge of children's animation

Jeyamani

In charge of maintenance and meals

Jeyamani , like all plantation daughters born in the 1960s, started working at the age of 14, following her mother through the plantations. She was later married to a man from the same community: a tea plantation worker. Despite the birth of her three children, she, like all the women of the plantations, was waiting until the last moment to go to the hospital. Yet she held on for 30 long years of hard work. But no retirement for these people, you have to work until the children are able to support the parents. Unfortunately this is not the case with Jeyamani. That's why she joined the organization, looking for a job to help her sick husband, children and grandchildren. With Solidestinations , she can hope to train and have a reliable employment contract .

Albert_DxO.jpg

Albert

Originally from South India (Tamil Nadu), Albert was adopted by a French family and grew up there at the age of 8. He therefore has dual Indian / French nationality.
His initial training is psychology. He worked for 15 years in France with the state social services and several non-profit social development organizations. He then joined humanitarian aid, on education and protection programs for children and women.
In 2011 , he left the humanitarian and discovered solidarity tourism.
It was then that he reconciled his different skills to create ,   with Alexis, Solidestinations , a tourism company based on the social and solidarity economy and fair trade .

Director

ALexis 2016_DxO.jpg

Alexis

Director and technical advisor of the plantation

Alexis is trained as a farmer and an industrial maintenance technician.

It was by integrating a job in Lyon that Alexis discovered alternative consumption and the preservation of the environment. It was also in Lyon that he met Albert ROCHET who introduced him to solidarity tourism and fair trade. Together they will create Solidestinations Sri Lanka and then Solidestinations India. In 2015 Alexis created the Voyageurs Solidaires association to support Solidestinations, then in 2018 Alexis joined the management of Solidestinations India. Meanwhile Alexis takes over his parents' farm which is approaching retirement. He then decides to convert the grain farm to organic farming. Every year Alexis goes to India to supervise the tea plantation project and provide technical expertise on the agricultural and agroforestry ecosystem of our plantations. It is also Alexis who maintains communication with the network of partners in France.

Notre équipe

BINDHU_DxO.jpg

Bindhu
 

Bindhu est la première à avoir rejoint notre équipe et à avoir été initiée à la fabrication du thé en 2018. Aujourd'hui elle forme à son tour les femmes travaillant avec nous. Cette femme veuve élève seule ses deux enfants et prend soin de sa mère âgée, mais toujours active. Avant de nous rejoindre, Bindhu travaillait à journée dans les plantations de thé, les rizières et les chantiers de construction. Elle travaillait pour une somme dérisoire de 3 à 6 euros la journée. En rejoignant Solidestinations, elle a le droit à un vrai contrat de travail et à un salaire mensuel garanti

Responsable technique de la plantation et rouleuse de thé

SHALINI_DxO.jpg

Shalini a été recrutée en 2018 à temps partiel, en parallèle à ses études de licence de Comptabilité. Sa licence terminée, elle suit aujourd’hui un master par correspondance et travaille à plein temps avec Solidestinations en tant qu’assistante de Direction et Project manager. Shalini est l’ainée d’une famille de 2 enfants, dont la mère est veuve et sans travail depuis le décès d’un mari violent alors que Shalini avait 12 ans. Shalini souhaite faire carrière avec Solidestinations et nous espérons qu’elle pourra prendre la direction de l’atelier local de Gudalur un jour ! 

Shalini

Chargé de projets et d'administration

Nisha est arrivée en 2019 et a deux enfants de treize et huit ans. Elle a été recrutée et formée par Bindhu. Elle est également une travailleuse à la journée. Son mari peintre travaille tout comme elle, à la journée. Nisha et son mari ont réussi à scolariser leur grande fille dans une école potable et en anglais. C’est un effort immense, car en général, les enfants des familles pauvres vont à l’école communale en Tamoule

Nisha

Responsable du stock, du contrôle qualité et rouleuse de thé

ANUSHA_DxO.jpg

Anusha

Anusha est la fille de Bindhu, sans repère et encadrement pendant que sa mère travaillait, elle a raté son entrée en Université en 2019 après avoir obtenu son Bac. Nous l’avons repérée pendant certains événements organisés par Solidestinations, pour son caractère fort, son énergie débordante et ses capacités à s’occuper des enfants. Un parrainage offert par une de nos voyageuses lui a permis de s’inscrire en Licence de Travail social. Elle suit parallèlement un apprentissage avec Solidestinations sur l’animation des enfants et la comptabilité.​​

Assistante administrative et chargée de l'animation des enfants 

Jeyamani

Chargée de l'entretien et des repas

Jeyamani, comme toutes les filles des plantations nées dans les années 60, a commencé à travailler dès 14 ans, en suivant sa mère dans les plantations. Elle a ensuite été mariée à un homme de la même communauté : un ouvrier de plantation de thé. Malgré la naissance de ses trois enfants, elle, comme toutes les femmes des plantations, elle attendait le dernier moment pour se rendre à l’hôpital. Elle a pourtant tenu le coup pendant 30 longues années de dur labeur. Mais pas de retraite pour ces gens, il faut travailler jusqu’à ce que les enfants soient en mesure de prendre en charge les parents. Malheureusement ce n’est pas le cas de Jeyamani. C’est pourquoi elle a rejoint l’organisation, cherchant un travail pour aider son mari malade, ses enfants et petits-enfants. Avec Solidestinations, elle peut espérer se former et avoir un contrat de travail fiable

Albert_DxO.jpg

Albert

Originaire d'Inde du Sud (Tamil Nadu), Albert a été adopté par une famille française et y a grandi dès l'âge de 8 ans. Il a donc la double nationalité indienne/française.
Sa formation initiale est la psychologie. Il a travaillé pendant 15 ans en France avec les services sociaux de l'État et plusieurs organisations de développement social à but non lucratif. Il a ensuite rejoint l'aide humanitaire, sur des programmes d'éducation et de protection des enfants et des femmes.
En 2011, il quitte l'humanitaire et découvre le tourisme solidaire.
 C'est alors qu'il concilie ses différentes compétences pour créer, avec Alexis, Solidestinations, une entreprise de tourisme basée sur l'économie sociale et solidaire et le commerce équitable

Directeur

ALexis 2016_DxO.jpg

Alexis

Directeur et conseiller technique de la plantation

Alexis a une formation d'agriculteur et de technicien de maintenance industrielle.

C'est en intégrant un emploi à Lyon qu'Alexis découvre la consommation alternative et la préservation de l'environnement. C'est également à Lyon qu'il fait la connaissance d'Albert ROCHET qui l'introduit au tourisme solidaire et au commerce équitable. C'est ensemble qu'ils vont créer Solidestinations Sri Lanka et ensuite Solidestinations India. En 2015 Alexis crée l'association  Voyageurs Solidaires pour venir en appui à Solidestinations puis en 2018 Alexis rejoint la direction de Solidestinations India. Entre temps Alexis reprends l'exploitation agricole de ses parents qui approche de la retraite. Il décide alors de convertir la ferme céréalière à l’agriculture biologique. Tous les ans Alexis se rends en Inde superviser le projet de plantation de thé et apporter son expertise technique sur L'écosystème agricole et agroforestier de nos plantations. C'est également Alexis qui maintient la communication avec le réseau de partenaires en France.